Thursday, October 08, 2015


Five years after the publication of Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf, Jennifer Holm returns to Ginny Davis’s story as the now eighth-grader tackles another year of friendships, family life, and school. Ginny’s big plans for the year include, among other things, trying out for cheer, falling in love, looking good in the family holiday photo, and teaching Grandpa Joe how to email.

In this scrapbook-styled sequel told through homework assignments, photographs, notes, bills, and other “stuff,” Ginny faces new challenges with a new baby sibling on the way, her mother’s transition to stay-at-home parenting, and her step-father’s unexpected job loss. Big brother Henry is still getting into trouble; little brother Timmy is still getting into Ginny’s things. 

Those who read and enjoyed the first book will notice the updated tech: Ginny now has a cell phone, photos are higher resolution, instant messaging boxes are streamlined, and there’s nary a mention of VHS tapes anywhere. 

As in the first novel, Eighth Grade Is Making me Sick: Ginny Davis’s Year in Stuff tackles difficult, age-appropriate topics. Both funny and heartfelt, Jennifer Holm’s novel will appeal to fans of James Patterson’s Middle School series, R.J. Palacio’s Wonder, and Raina Telgemier’s Smile.

No comments: